PDA

View Full Version : Samsung LN46C750 with transcoding off

niko
12-18-2010, 11:01 AM
I have some feedback after using Mezzmo, and a few requested features.

I changed the Transcode setting to Off. There seems to be no real need to have this on, that I can tell. The default Samsung C device profile has this turned on by default (im asumming its in the profile or a default of Mezzmo).

With Transcoding on, it was lagging the server. its an old AMD 64 X2 duel core 3800+ running XP. The movie was pausing during transcoding. Same movie with transcoding turned off, played fine, no lagging, and the server wasn't even working hard.

The C750 plays back DivX, Xvid, h264, mp4, avi, mts2, mkv, and some vobs files, without transcoding. Won't play wmv, have to do more testing for fla and mov files. I supect they need to be transcoded. I am not an expert, but everything is working great with a large collection of (H264, Xvid, DivX) movies. When i come accross a format that it doesn't accept i will transcode it myself or delete the movie. Is it possible to be selective in transcoding? say not transcode mp4 files, but transcode fla files?

I am building my collection of movies using Mezzmo, it is so much faster to update the database, and reliable than Samsungs PCShare.

I have a few requests. Maybe the options already exist.

Can i have a jpg, or png file with the movie image saved with the same name as the video and have Mezzmo use that image instead of getting an image from the video?

Can i set a time distance into a movie to grab the image from, so its not always showing some preview unrelated image. maybe grab the image at 2 minutes into the movie (if the setting is set to 2 minutes). But first check to see if the movie already has a cover image.jpg with the movies file name. (hope thats not confusing)