PDA

View Full Version : Forcing Mezzmo to complete a Partially transcoded file after the process has stopped.



djhash
02-10-2011, 12:26 PM
Hey,

I was wondering is there a way to force Mezzmo to complete partially transcoded files after the ffmpeg process has been stopped?

My PC crashed towards the end of transcoding, i'm missing the last few minutes of the video. The video itself is about 50 minutes long. I'd rather not delete the transcoded file and having to replay the video from the beginning. Since I get no ff/rew while transcoding, my only other option is to delete the transcoded file, and then play the video then possibly pause it till the transcoding is complete, then re-start the video and fast forward to the point where I stopped watching.

Does the ffmpeg process allow such a thing? are there any command lines I can use to have it complete the transcoding?

Normally this is command that runs;


"C:\Program Files\Conceiva\Mezzmo\ffmpeg.exe" -i "I:\TVSHOW~1\Fringe\SEASON~2\FRC495~1.MKV" -y -vcodec mpeg2video -b 8600000 -sameq -copyts -g 18 -vf "scale=1280:720" -acodec copy -sn -f dvd -threads 4 -pix_fmt yuv420p -copyinkf -sc_threshold 1000000000 -qmin 5 -qscale 1 -trellis 1 -cmp 1 -subcmp 1 -mbd rd -vbsf h264_mp4toannexb -fflags +genpts+ignidx+igndts -deinterlace "C:\*******\7EA93B3D-4600-4369-B113-C8FAA37EF507\Video\88-mpeg_ntsc-mpeg2video-ac3.mzt"

Paul
02-10-2011, 01:05 PM
No, I don't think that FFmpeg allows resuming, unfortunately.

djhash
02-10-2011, 01:16 PM
Thanks. I think it might be something they should work on..

djhash
02-10-2011, 01:39 PM
I was looking around in the ffmpeg documentation and i found this


‘-ss position’
Seek to given time position in seconds. hh:mm:ss[.xxx] syntax is also supported.

‘-itsoffset offset’
Set the input time offset in seconds. [-]hh:mm:ss[.xxx] syntax is also supported. This option affects all the input files that follow it. The offset is added to the timestamps of the input files. Specifying a positive offset means that the corresponding streams are delayed by 'offset' seconds.

Paul
02-10-2011, 01:55 PM
Yes, but that will just create a smaller output file starting at the offset you've specified.

yeagergsd
08-23-2011, 07:07 AM
So how would you delete partial transcoding? I have several transcoded files that are very small, but don't know what they are tied to (since the name is cryptic). I have a few movies that when I watch they consistently lock up and wonder if they are tied to those incomplete files - is there a way to tell?

thanks,
Yeager

Paul
08-23-2011, 09:21 AM
One way to check is to go to the Transcoding tab in the Properties dialog for those movies and you'll see transcoded files and their size there. You can also delete them from there.

If you enable logging, you can check which file is used for which movie as well. Another way is to browse Mezzmo's database using a third-party tool (but you need to know what you're doing for this, otherwise you may change something which will make the whole thing stop working).