PDA

View Full Version : Best Device To Stream To?



JJenson
10-11-2011, 04:24 AM
I have tried my xbox360 and it works most of the time but still is choppy a decent amount of the time. I also have a Logitech Revue and it streams great but restarts as soon as it catches up to whats been transcoded. I am looking for the easiest device to stream to transcode to so I don't run into issues anymore?

Paul
10-11-2011, 08:48 AM
I haven't seen a perfect device yet, but a few work quite well. It depends on whether you are just looking for a stand-alone media player, or you'd want to watch BluRays as well, or are in market for a new TV.

JJenson
10-11-2011, 08:53 AM
I am not wanting a new tv I have 2 nice tv's already I just want something I can connect to them that will not stutter. Not sure why I keep getting this as teh network should be plenty fast enough to handle it. It onyl happens on files larger than 3gb as well. All my tv shows never have any issues at all.

While I am at it anyone with a revue is there a way to stretch the image to fill out the screen?

Paul
10-11-2011, 08:55 AM
Stuttering on the XBox360 could be because of transcoding not being fast enough or the bitrate of the file too high. We actually have an updated device profile for it, so if you open a support ticket, I can send it to you and it may fix your issue.

The Revue's DLNA support is still in beta, so at the moment it's not the best device to stream to. Once Logitech update their firmware, hopefully, we'll get better results.

JJenson
10-11-2011, 10:40 AM
I actually got it from one of your people while in trial mode. It really didn't help a bunch and the person said the transcoding is fast enough so it seems strange that it stutters.

Paul
10-11-2011, 10:41 AM
If you open up that file in Notepad, what's the <version> tag in it? Also, did you receive a patched version of the server?

JJenson
10-11-2011, 12:46 PM
When I purchased it updated the server to 2.4.4

<version>108-test2</version>

Paul
10-11-2011, 12:54 PM
I think the last message from you to us was that you'll send some logs in and we didn't receive anything after that. If you'd like, we can continue looking at your issue.

JJenson
10-11-2011, 01:22 PM
I can send some logs in from now I will have to re-enable them and get them. The last message was I adjusted your profile to do 1080i resolution 1280x720 and I got better results but sometimes it works perfectly and other times it stutters a bunch. I cannot see a pattern. I have been trying on my logitech revue and it just doesn't transcode fast enough i don't think but it never stutters. Maybe I will try tweaking that profile.

Paul
10-11-2011, 01:24 PM
Yes, if you can send in logs from trying to play a stuttering file (delete transcoded files first, so that transcoding is also logged), we can proceed to further look at the issue.

JJenson
10-11-2011, 01:42 PM
Ok I will send in the logs in about an hour or so need to finish up some work.

JJenson
10-11-2011, 02:30 PM
Logs are attached based on folder for each device.157

Paul
10-11-2011, 03:07 PM
Thanks for the logs, but please open a support ticket so that we could do this properly - otherwise I won't be able to send you any changes/patches, since I cannot post them on a public forum.

JJenson
10-11-2011, 04:18 PM
Ok I have entered a support ticket thanks.