PDA

View Full Version : Fast Forward problem with Mezzmo



rbk123
10-23-2011, 12:21 AM
I've just started using Mezzmo and have noticed an issue where I can't Fast Forward when watching video files. What happens is it will fast forward, but then as soon as I hit play for it to start at the point I want to watch it again, it goes to the beginning of the file I'm watching. I've tested the following:

- happens on both VOB, WTV, and DVRMS files
- happens when played on both WD TV Live Plus and a PS3
- when I switch the WD TV Live Plus to use network share instead of Mezzmo, I can fast forward the same files just fine

Any settings or things I can try to fix?

Paul
10-24-2011, 09:08 AM
Are you using the latest v2.4.5 and the "WD TV Live Plus" device profile?

If you are, please enable logging (see this thread: http://forum.conceiva.com/showthread.php/419-FAQ-How-to-turn-on-diagnostic-logging) then try FFing on the WDTV for a few seconds and press Play. Once it goes to the beginning of the file, stop the server and send in the logs to support and we'll check them out.

rbk123
10-24-2011, 10:56 AM
Definately 2.4.5. I'll check on the profile and the logging as well (and report back). Thanks.

michaelr
10-24-2011, 12:57 PM
I am using 2.4.5.0 as well and experience the same issue with a Sony BDP device.

Paul
10-24-2011, 02:39 PM
I am using 2.4.5.0 as well and experience the same issue with a Sony BDP device.
Please send in logs as well.

avguru1
01-15-2012, 01:29 PM
I'll chime in: LG BluRay 690 - cannot fast forward as well. (2.5.0.0)

Paul
01-16-2012, 09:08 AM
I'll chime in: LG BluRay 690 - cannot fast forward as well. (2.5.0.0)
Please send in the logs trying to FF a file and we'll see what's going on. Is the file being transcoded when you try to do this or is it a native or already transcoded file?

paul49
01-18-2012, 11:27 AM
I was about to start a new thread but this looks similar but not the same. I noticed this first on 2.4.5 and it is still happening on 2.5.0. It was never apparent on any earlier versions (been using it since mid-2010).

Hardware is all Sony - HX700 TV and two BDPS370's. The BluRays will FF OK but when I hit Play it usually resumes at a completely different (and random) point - usually much later in the recording.
The TV looked OK in 2.4.5 but now in 2.5.0, if I've been watching for a while and then hit FF, it will (sometimes but not every time), immediately skip 5-10 minutes into the recording and then start the FF from there.

I'll organise some logs and send them in.

Thanks,
Paul.

Paul
01-18-2012, 12:43 PM
Typically a device will try to get data and find the next keyframe. In most cases this should be within 10-15 seconds from the point you're pausing/FF/REWing. Please do send in some logs and we'll check them out.

paul49
01-18-2012, 01:15 PM
Hi Dennis,

That's interesting - I've never noticed any discontinuity in the past - always seemed to resume exactly where I expected it to.

Since Mezzmo has been super-reliable for the last 18 months and since it affected both of my BDPs simultaneously, I've been assigning the blame to either my server hardware or to my network (which it still might be). I was about to isolate the TV and server from the network and connect them on a gigabit link when I saw the previous posts.

The files are all mpeg-ps converted from wtv in order to avoid transcoding.

I'll do some more testing/logging. Logs go to support(AT)conce... etc, I presume?

Thanks again for your prompt response (as always :) ).

Paul
01-18-2012, 01:21 PM
Did you convert the files yourself (using a third-party tool) or did Mezzmo do that? Yes, please send logs to that e-mail. Thanks!

paul49
01-18-2012, 01:35 PM
I wrote a daemon process to poll/interrogate Media Centre for new recordings and fire off VideoRedo's COM interface to do a QuickStream fix and save the file as mpeg-ps.

Paul
01-18-2012, 01:36 PM
Ok, as a test, can you add one of the original WTV files to Mezzmo and let Mezzmo transcode it and see if FF/REW is better/same/worse?

paul49
01-18-2012, 01:42 PM
No problem. My server hardware isn't really grunty enough for real-time transcoding - your new pre-transcoding is good enough for the purpose?

Paul
01-18-2012, 01:44 PM
Yes, one of the reasons pre-transcoding was implemented is to help transcode files on lower-spec'ed CPUs. It won't automatically pre-transcode new files as they come in, but that's a planned feature.

paul49
01-18-2012, 01:54 PM
I haven't looked at pre-transcoding yet. What format does it transcode to - do I need to tell it which profile I'm going to use?

Paul
01-18-2012, 01:58 PM
It'll only let you pick from the devices that have been connected to your server at any stage (basically the ones that you see in the Media Devices dialog) and you can choose formats, based on the device profile.