PDA

View Full Version : Sharp Aquos C8470U - Not playing my MKV files

Scott
11-24-2012, 01:12 AM
Hello,

I'm relatively new to Mezzmo and the DLNA world. It's awesome and I have loved using my digital library on my TV.

I just bought a new Sharp C8470U and I am having some trouble getting the TV to play my MKV files. My previous Sharp recognized and played them just fine, but this one is showing "Can't play this file type" error on the TV. Even with that error, Mezzmo is starting to transcode the file, but it's saying that the transcoding is too slow. I tried changing the device profile around to the different Sharp profiles. Oddly, when I first started Mezzmo with the new tv, Mezzmo assigned it a generic device profile. When I switched it to "Sharp Aquos (2011 model), it played one of my MKV files, but non of the others. I tried uninstalling Mezzmo and reinstalling it. This time it recognized the TV with the Sharp profile, but non of the MKV files are playing. I didn't have this problem on my previous Sharp. Mezzmo worked perfectly transcribing the files and playing them.

Any suggestions?

Huge thanks,

Scott

Paul
11-26-2012, 11:07 AM
Mezzmo is transcoding your MKV files to a format that your TV supports.

Do you know what video formats that your TV model supports? You can typically find this in the TV's manual. If it supports MKV, then we will create a new device profile to match your TV's capabilities.

Scott
11-26-2012, 11:59 AM
Hi Paul,

I really appreciate the reply. The TV (Sharp C8470U) does say that it supports MKV. I turned on the the pre-transcoding feature for MKV files and it seems to be working alright. My first question is, will that use more disk space? I have a lot of MKV files and they are 6-10gb each.