Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Transcoding problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5

    Default Transcoding problem

    I have been trying to get Mezzmo installed and set up to stream files both locally (home network) and externally. I am using the standard install of ffMPEG. I have both options of Intel Quick Sync and Nvidia NVEC available. Most of the device choices for transcoding have been for web access, using hla. I've also tried doing it for a Kodi RPi box I have.

    Initially most of the 'test' files I tried (basic avi cartoons, some mpeg, some mkv) showed they were transcoding, although a few FAILED. The transcode folder certainly had files in it, and some seemed to play. I've read up quite a bit on the forum and Google searched. I turned off the encode using Intel and Nvidia, so just software.
    Files seem to show that they need to be transcoded, irrespective of if they have run through transcoding.

    I also tried a complete uninstall and re-install.
    The odd thing I'm seeing is that the ffMPEG details for the files all seem to show the same exit code, and say the same thing in the last couple of lines.

    "At least one output file must be specified
    <MEZZMO>: Child process ended with code: 109, ExitCode=1"


    What does that message really mean? I can provide more logs and run further tests, but what is it asking for with the output file?
    EDIT: That message seems to be a very standard one contained in many posts.

    The FROM folder below is actually my transcode output folder, not a source folder.

    Any pointers appreciated.



    Windows 10, Intel Core i7 3770 @ 3.40GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GT 630. Zone Alarm Pro, ESET NOD32 Pro, MalwareBytes.

    ffmpeg version N-90389-g247cdc2 Copyright (c) 2000-2018 the FFmpeg developers
    built with gcc 4.9.2 (GCC)
    configuration: --arch=x86_64 --target-os=mingw32 --cross-prefix=x86_64-w64-mingw32- --enable-static --disable-shared --enable-zlib --disable-postproc --prefix=/home/peter/ffmpeg/build/gpl64 --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libx264 --enable-gpl --extra-libs='-lx264 -lpthread -lstdc++' --enable-runtime-cpudetect --extra-cflags=-I/home/peter/cc32/include --extra-ldflags=-L/home/peter/cc64/lib --pkg-config=pkg-config --pkg-config-flags=--static --disable-w32threads --enable-libvpx --enable-libvorbis --enable-libtheora --enable-libx265 --enable-cuda --enable-cuvid --enable-dxva2 --enable-libmfx --enable-nvenc --enable-gnutls --extra-libs='-lz -lnettle -lhogweed -lgmp -lidn -lws2_32 -lcrypt32'
    libavutil 56. 11.100 / 56. 11.100
    libavcodec 58. 14.100 / 58. 14.100
    libavformat 58. 10.100 / 58. 10.100
    libavdevice 58. 2.100 / 58. 2.100
    libavfilter 7. 13.100 / 7. 13.100
    libswscale 5. 0.102 / 5. 0.102
    libswresample 3. 0.101 / 3. 0.101
    Input #0, mpeg, from 'E:\Mezzmo.Transcode\A86DC123-99B2-402f-BE41-89001A93D476\Video\1-mpeg-mpeg2video-ac3-sn.mzt':
    Duration: 00:06:39.17, start: 0.534667, bitrate: 3295 kb/s
    Stream #0:0[0x1e0]: Video: mpeg2video (Main), yuv420p(tv, progressive), 640x480 [SAR 1:1 DAR 4:3], 25 fps, 25 tbr, 90k tbn, 50 tbc
    Stream #0:1[0x80]: Audio: ac3, 48000 Hz, stereo, fltp, 448 kb/s
    At least one output file must be specified

    <MEZZMO>: Child process ended with code: 109, ExitCode=1
    Last edited by charlesc; 05-11-2020 at 06:37 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2,221

    Default

    This is just the ffmpeg information of the file and will always report this message. Can you please enable diagnostic logging http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?id=using_logging&s[]=diagnostic then after restarting your Mezzmo media server try playing a file on your device and then either post the logs here or send them to support [at] conceiva [dot] com

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks for the response Peter.
    I can and will do that. However playback isn't necessarily the issue. Will the log also be useful to show why pre-transcodes don't seem to work? Do I just enable the log and then try and pre-transcode, and send you the result?
    In my testing I've seen the system transcode files that a remote user has accessed. They found however that if they paused, they would return to the start again. So I'm hoping a pre-transcoded file may help there. I've also seen the system queue up files and transcode them, only to have the browsing interface say the files need to be transcoded.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2,221

    Default

    If a file is pre-transcoded to a format that is not the default format and transcoding has not completed then a new transcode will be done using the default format. Also if using the web interface and a file has been transcoded to a format that is not supported by the browser then a new transcode will be done using the browsers supported format. For web browsers pre-transcoding to mp4 should work in all browsers.

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I'm pre-transcoding vie Mezzmo's choices. I'm not just choosing some unusual format as such.
    Tools, Pre-transcode library, choosing Web Access, and selecting the Mezzmo preferred hls (h264, aac). This is the default format as presented by Mezzmo?

    Thanks for your help

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2,221

    Default

    hls is not supported by every browser, only Safari, Chrome Android and Edge so if you are using a different browser then the file will be transcoded on the fly to the default format for this browser. It is difficult to show the default format in the pre-transcoding dialog for web access because only mp4 is supported by all browsers but this is not supported for on the fly transcoding so each browser has a different on the fly transcoding format.

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with pre-transcoding
    By user623 in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-23-2015, 06:34 PM
  2. Mezzmo 2.6 Transcoding/not transcoding problem divx Sony Bravia KDL
    By steve12 in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-26-2012, 11:57 AM
  3. Messzmo 2.6 Transcoding/not transcoding problem
    By dpetr in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 05-29-2012, 11:17 AM
  4. I think that I have a problem with the transcoding
    By huvince in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-19-2011, 09:34 AM
  5. Transcoding problem
    By Jabberwock in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-19-2010, 09:31 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •