Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: unable to see or find server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    41

    Default unable to see or find server

    Problem: Unable to see Mezzmo as a server on devices using only ethernet connection of server to router.

    Let me preface by saying, the family and I had watched so many videos through our mezzmo for a while, we "took a break" and since the last time we used, there had been some changes.
    One of the changes had been we changed from connecting the desktop that Mezzmo runs on from wireless to wired connection to the router. After that, I no longer used the wireless connection from router to desktop, just ethernet.

    I recently had to replace internal C drive. Went from Win 10 home to Win 10 Pro. Luckily had multiple backups of data on a separate drive so did not lose files, but trying to get Mezzmo back up and running again.

    No change in modem or router technically. Using ASUS RTAC87r. Checked all that was recommended to have either disabled or enabled and everything as it should be.

    Running Kaspersky Total security. This too had been something I had been running but did have to reload. It is handling the Firewall and made sure "Conceiva" was a trusted app.


    So question is this...

    I could not find the server ie desktop that runs Mezzmo as I had on the same devices as before UNTIL I connected the desktop to the router with a wireless connection in addition to ethernet. Why is it that I am unable to see the devices and they see me if I use only the ethernet connection?
    Is it because DLNA has to use wireless? If the desktop is not the DLNA source, does that mean the router would have to serve as the broadcasting DLNA source?


    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2,602

    Default

    Please check the subnet of the wireless connection against the ethernet connection, sometimes routers put the wireless and wired connections in a different subnet so if the TV is connected via wireless it will be in a different subnet to the Mezzmo server and will not receive the multicast messages from the server.

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Posts
    2

    Default

    This has also been happening to me since February. I got so frustrated that I started using Plex, which actually has more useful features and cost me nothing. I expected to get a better quality media server by paying for it, but I guess some good things in life are actually free. Fix your crap software!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    786

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Christian View Post
    Problem: Unable to see Mezzmo as a server on devices using only ethernet connection of server to router.

    Let me preface by saying, the family and I had watched so many videos through our mezzmo for a while, we "took a break" and since the last time we used, there had been some changes.
    One of the changes had been we changed from connecting the desktop that Mezzmo runs on from wireless to wired connection to the router. After that, I no longer used the wireless connection from router to desktop, just ethernet.

    I recently had to replace internal C drive. Went from Win 10 home to Win 10 Pro. Luckily had multiple backups of data on a separate drive so did not lose files, but trying to get Mezzmo back up and running again.

    No change in modem or router technically. Using ASUS RTAC87r. Checked all that was recommended to have either disabled or enabled and everything as it should be.

    Running Kaspersky Total security. This too had been something I had been running but did have to reload. It is handling the Firewall and made sure "Conceiva" was a trusted app.


    So question is this...

    I could not find the server ie desktop that runs Mezzmo as I had on the same devices as before UNTIL I connected the desktop to the router with a wireless connection in addition to ethernet. Why is it that I am unable to see the devices and they see me if I use only the ethernet connection?
    Is it because DLNA has to use wireless? If the desktop is not the DLNA source, does that mean the router would have to serve as the broadcasting DLNA source?


    Thanks
    Something else to check is in your Media Server Settings in Mezzmo and see which network(s) you are broadcasting on. I would set it to Ethernet. Ethernet should carry over to wireless unless your router has uPNP enabled, which can cause problems. Also, you didn't say what client(s) you are using. Some of the Mezzmo clients like Kodi and Roku allow manually entering of the Mezzmo server IP address which gets around network broadcast issues.


    Jeff

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I have been using Mezzmo since 2018 with the same Roku TV. The TV has no ethernet, just wireless, never had a problem before February this year. I would think if it were the settings that I would have had this problem 4 years ago rather than 6 months ago. I have no problem with the Plex connection which is using the same wireless connection, so it isn't a failing wireless connection either. So the conclusion to the problem is either the media player itself or the Roku Mezzmo app since everything behaved nicely for 4 years.

  6. #6

    Default

    I had this same problem, but believe I've just fixed it

    Check your Server Advertisement Interval under Media Server Settings.
    http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...ement_interval

    Default is 1800 seconds.

    Tip: If your device has trouble detecting Mezzmo, then you can try reducing the advertisement interval to 180 (which is 3 minutes).
    I changed to 180 as recommended and it picked up for me.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    41

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter View Post
    Please check the subnet of the wireless connection against the ethernet connection, sometimes routers put the wireless and wired connections in a different subnet so if the TV is connected via wireless it will be in a different subnet to the Mezzmo server and will not receive the multicast messages from the server.
    I checked and the subnet is same (255.255.255.0). In my router, it appears LAN is setup to use that for all.

    Jeff suggested I check to see which networks I was broadcasting on. There is only one listed; 192.168.1.19.

    However, since I had to take a break from working on this, I noticed something tonight that was not noticed the last time. The IP addresses listed in media devices are not what I show in my router to be assigned to anything. For instance, the TV is an LG so listed as LGWebOS and the IP in media device is 192.168.1.178 with a MAC address of 4C:1B:86:CE:18:CC
    listed under my router page the TV has 192.168.1.131 and the MAC is 00:IF:54:C4:6E.

    I have rebooted my computer and the router but still holding that discrepancy. That seems like a major issue.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2,602

    Default

    255.255.255.0 is the subnet mask, the subnet is the last value of the ip address so 192.168.1.x. Sometimes wireless can be 192.168.2.x and ethernet 192.168.1.x for example and this puts them in different subnets.

    Mezzmo will update the ip address in the list the next time the device connects to the server, the MAC address is used to identify the device. If the ip address is not being updated this means that M-Search or Notify messages from the device are not reaching the Mezzmo server which is preventing the update of the ip. Please try disabling temporarily the Kaspersky Firewall to see if the ip address gets updated for the TV in the list.

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    786

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Christian View Post
    I checked and the subnet is same (255.255.255.0). In my router, it appears LAN is setup to use that for all.

    Jeff suggested I check to see which networks I was broadcasting on. There is only one listed; 192.168.1.19.

    However, since I had to take a break from working on this, I noticed something tonight that was not noticed the last time. The IP addresses listed in media devices are not what I show in my router to be assigned to anything. For instance, the TV is an LG so listed as LGWebOS and the IP in media device is 192.168.1.178 with a MAC address of 4C:1B:86:CE:18:CC
    listed under my router page the TV has 192.168.1.131 and the MAC is 00:IF:54:C4:6E.

    I have rebooted my computer and the router but still holding that discrepancy. That seems like a major issue.
    The different MAC and IP addresses are likely due to you changing from wireless to ethernet. Your devices will have different MAC addresses for each physical interface (i.e. wireless and Ethernet) and likewise DHCP will hand out different IP addresses to different MAC addresses. This is standard networking.

    I suggest doing the following:

    • Delete the old entries in the Mezzmo device manager since they are pointing to the wireless MAC address. This won't do anything but will eliminate some confusion with multiple entries.
    • As Peter says, disable your firewall.
    • Try pinging your devices from your Mezzmo server and see if they respond properly
    • Make sure the option to allow new devices to connect is enabled in the Mezzmo Media Devices window
    • While the firewall is disabled, try rebooting your devices and see if they show up under the Mezzmo Media Devices
    • If they don't show up try stopping / starting the Mezzmo server service


    If this doesn't work then open a CMD window on your Mezzmo server, run the command "ipconfig /all" and post the results here.


    Thanks,

    Jeff

Similar Threads

  1. Galaxy S10 cannot find server
    By costero in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-16-2020, 10:21 AM
  2. Unable to upgrade, unable to unload Mezzmo - on Server 2012
    By A_Mezz in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-11-2014, 06:36 PM
  3. Device cannot find server after upgrading to 3.0
    By bsantelli in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2013, 10:30 AM
  4. Unable to find Panasonic Viera TV
    By meadx001 in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-15-2012, 10:51 AM
  5. Sharp aquos cannot find mezzmo server - no media server found
    By wagnermachine in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-05-2011, 10:00 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •