Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: unable to see or find server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    40

    Default unable to see or find server

    Problem: Unable to see Mezzmo as a server on devices using only ethernet connection of server to router.

    Let me preface by saying, the family and I had watched so many videos through our mezzmo for a while, we "took a break" and since the last time we used, there had been some changes.
    One of the changes had been we changed from connecting the desktop that Mezzmo runs on from wireless to wired connection to the router. After that, I no longer used the wireless connection from router to desktop, just ethernet.

    I recently had to replace internal C drive. Went from Win 10 home to Win 10 Pro. Luckily had multiple backups of data on a separate drive so did not lose files, but trying to get Mezzmo back up and running again.

    No change in modem or router technically. Using ASUS RTAC87r. Checked all that was recommended to have either disabled or enabled and everything as it should be.

    Running Kaspersky Total security. This too had been something I had been running but did have to reload. It is handling the Firewall and made sure "Conceiva" was a trusted app.


    So question is this...

    I could not find the server ie desktop that runs Mezzmo as I had on the same devices as before UNTIL I connected the desktop to the router with a wireless connection in addition to ethernet. Why is it that I am unable to see the devices and they see me if I use only the ethernet connection?
    Is it because DLNA has to use wireless? If the desktop is not the DLNA source, does that mean the router would have to serve as the broadcasting DLNA source?


    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2,601

    Default

    Please check the subnet of the wireless connection against the ethernet connection, sometimes routers put the wireless and wired connections in a different subnet so if the TV is connected via wireless it will be in a different subnet to the Mezzmo server and will not receive the multicast messages from the server.

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Posts
    2

    Default

    This has also been happening to me since February. I got so frustrated that I started using Plex, which actually has more useful features and cost me nothing. I expected to get a better quality media server by paying for it, but I guess some good things in life are actually free. Fix your crap software!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    784

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Christian View Post
    Problem: Unable to see Mezzmo as a server on devices using only ethernet connection of server to router.

    Let me preface by saying, the family and I had watched so many videos through our mezzmo for a while, we "took a break" and since the last time we used, there had been some changes.
    One of the changes had been we changed from connecting the desktop that Mezzmo runs on from wireless to wired connection to the router. After that, I no longer used the wireless connection from router to desktop, just ethernet.

    I recently had to replace internal C drive. Went from Win 10 home to Win 10 Pro. Luckily had multiple backups of data on a separate drive so did not lose files, but trying to get Mezzmo back up and running again.

    No change in modem or router technically. Using ASUS RTAC87r. Checked all that was recommended to have either disabled or enabled and everything as it should be.

    Running Kaspersky Total security. This too had been something I had been running but did have to reload. It is handling the Firewall and made sure "Conceiva" was a trusted app.


    So question is this...

    I could not find the server ie desktop that runs Mezzmo as I had on the same devices as before UNTIL I connected the desktop to the router with a wireless connection in addition to ethernet. Why is it that I am unable to see the devices and they see me if I use only the ethernet connection?
    Is it because DLNA has to use wireless? If the desktop is not the DLNA source, does that mean the router would have to serve as the broadcasting DLNA source?


    Thanks
    Something else to check is in your Media Server Settings in Mezzmo and see which network(s) you are broadcasting on. I would set it to Ethernet. Ethernet should carry over to wireless unless your router has uPNP enabled, which can cause problems. Also, you didn't say what client(s) you are using. Some of the Mezzmo clients like Kodi and Roku allow manually entering of the Mezzmo server IP address which gets around network broadcast issues.


    Jeff

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I have been using Mezzmo since 2018 with the same Roku TV. The TV has no ethernet, just wireless, never had a problem before February this year. I would think if it were the settings that I would have had this problem 4 years ago rather than 6 months ago. I have no problem with the Plex connection which is using the same wireless connection, so it isn't a failing wireless connection either. So the conclusion to the problem is either the media player itself or the Roku Mezzmo app since everything behaved nicely for 4 years.

  6. #6

    Default

    I had this same problem, but believe I've just fixed it

    Check your Server Advertisement Interval under Media Server Settings.
    http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...ement_interval

    Default is 1800 seconds.

    Tip: If your device has trouble detecting Mezzmo, then you can try reducing the advertisement interval to 180 (which is 3 minutes).
    I changed to 180 as recommended and it picked up for me.

Similar Threads

  1. Galaxy S10 cannot find server
    By costero in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-16-2020, 10:21 AM
  2. Unable to upgrade, unable to unload Mezzmo - on Server 2012
    By A_Mezz in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-11-2014, 06:36 PM
  3. Device cannot find server after upgrading to 3.0
    By bsantelli in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2013, 10:30 AM
  4. Unable to find Panasonic Viera TV
    By meadx001 in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-15-2012, 10:51 AM
  5. Sharp aquos cannot find mezzmo server - no media server found
    By wagnermachine in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-05-2011, 10:00 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •