Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Video Thumbnail Size on Samsung TV

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    140

    Default Video Thumbnail Size on Samsung TV

    First of all, i appreciate you're really busy at the moment, so no big hassle on this one...it's just i'm fed up with seeing poor scaled and blocky video thumbs/covers. I've tried dozens of diffent sizes and they all look blocky. The only resolution i can get to look half decent is 108x65. But i'm certain it should be more like 216x130 based on the actual image size on the 1920x1080 screen.

    Anyway, is there a setting to customise the thumbnail size that is sent to the TV ? either in the GUI or in profile setting etc.
    I know there is a function in Tools, Options but that wont go below 160 ?

    I noticed in the samsungla profile there's a setting for JPEG thumb size (320x320) but i cant see a setting for Videos.

    Again, no rush.

    thanks

    Gus

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    11,616

    Default

    When you change the resolution in Options, you'll need to run Maintenance and update all information (this will, unfortunately, overwrite any custom artwork). That setting controls the actual thumbnails stored in the database. The size that's delivered to the TV is controlled in the device profile and that JPEG_TN setting is the one to tweak - it controls thumbnails for all modes (audio/video/photo). Of course the TV may resize the thumbnail further once it receives it...

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    140

    Default

    Sound good thanks. when i change the resolution in the Options, do i have to run Maitenance for all, or can i just update one of my videos covers manually during my tests?
    thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    11,616

    Default

    I'd just test it on one cover (I'd create a normal playlist, put one file in it and experiment away ).

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    140

    Default

    Thanks Dennis, i did exactly that and tested on just 1 playlist and ran maintenance at each step.

    For what it's worth (and sorry to be a pain i know it's not that important its just bugging the heck out of me), not matter what i do the cover image on the TV video list looks the exact same. bad and blocky. The only way the artwork changes appearance is to change the actual source image resolution and reassign. All the following makes no difference at all:

    - Change Artwork Thumbnail Width and Height figures in Tools, Options, General. to the same as jpg
    - Change Thumbnail sizes in Tools, Browsing Files, thumbail sizes (i know it doesnt matter about this one)
    - Change device profile jpeg_tn to the same resolution as the jpg.

    maybe someone else can post their experience with the Samsung C series. A jpg of 108x65 seems to be the best but i know for sure the onscreen version is more like 216x130.

    as before, no rush, i know you're busy

    Gus
    Last edited by Gus; 06-24-2011 at 08:28 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    11,616

    Default

    Ok, to confirm whether the changes are taking effect, try renaming the .mzt file in Thumbnails folder (under the Transcoding folder) to .jpg and see what dimensions that is. Also, I'd check the logs to make sure the JPEG_TN is delivered with the new dimensions specified.

    It's possible that the old thumbnail files are being used instead of the new ones (if you haven't cleared out the transcoding\thumbnails folders), so perhaps that's the issue here.

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    140

    Default

    Ok Dennis, a 'little' progress...

    I deleted all the .mzt files in the folders under Transcodingfiles, after a maintenance, i found a refreshed set of .mzt files in 2 folders:

    c:\users\gus\appdata\local\conceiva\mezzmo\transco dingfiles\762F5820-C7CB-42bb-89A3-AFE9523FE7D5\thumbnails
    c:\users\gus\appdata\local\conceiva\mezzmo\transco dingfiles\DAE6F66B-745D-46b5-930A-A570F45B8E3E\thumbnails

    The first folder had 6 filenames similar to 17677-jpeg-160-160-24.mzt
    The second folder had 6 filenames similar to 17677-jpeg-320-320-24.mzt

    The jpg files in the first folder (files named ...160-160...) look blocky and horrible, the same as the TV shows them...except for the 108x65 file, it looks fine as on the TV
    (all the other source images are above 160x160, and the .mzt files are now sized to 160x96 or 160x90, and look very blocky)

    The jpg files in the second folder (files named ...320-320...) are all the same resolution as the source jpg and look fine, except one which was 432x260. It's .mzt file is now blocky and sized to 320x192.

    My Tools, options, Artwork resolutions are set to 426x240 (because i cant set it lower that 160 in either x or y). It seems this is being ignored?

    thanks for your time.

    Gus

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    11,616

    Default

    The Options -> Artwork resolutions are used when creating thumbnails from files (for the database) - this is updated with Maintenance (update all information). The setting in the device profile is used to resize those database thumbnails to whatever you specify there, so if the original image is not good (in the db), then the resized version will be even worse of course.

    Try deleting all those transcoded thumbnails again. After that do maintenance on that file ro replace the thumbnail. Then try serving it again and a new thumbnail should be generated (which will hopefully look better).

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    140

    Default

    Dennis,
    i'm a little confused. The .mzt files in the transcodingfiles\thumbails folder only get created when my TV requests a folder list of video files. Until i turn on the TV there are no .mzt files available. Am i able to check the thumb size/quality of the db version after i run maintenance?
    I did try to replace the .mzt file with a better quality version, but it got re-created and overwritten when my TV requested the folder list.
    Will spend a bit more time on it tonight.
    cheers

    Gus

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    140

    Default

    ok i have set resolutions the same in: gui artwork, jpeg_tn setting in profile and the jpeg itself, and now the .mzt files on the server look fine. The onscreen TV version now looks quite blocky instead of really blocky! if i adjust all the places i just mentioned then the TV thumb does look better or worse.
    so i now just need to find the exact thumbnail resolution that the TV is resizing to. i've tried various combos including 213x120, 216x130 etc.

    any thoughts?

    thanks

    Gus

Similar Threads

  1. Improved: Artwork thumbnail generation for video files.
    By MSIMaker in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-26-2011, 08:54 PM
  2. Videos don't play? Check your debug log size.
    By badbob001 in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-11-2011, 12:00 PM
  3. Set border around thumbnail to keep aspect ratio of thumbnail
    By Johan in forum Mezzmo Wish List and Feedback
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-06-2011, 08:39 AM
  4. Size Limitation
    By MPG in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-17-2010, 03:18 PM
  5. Canīt modify transcoding size. Just outputs 720p
    By Comancheace in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-28-2010, 12:11 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •