Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: VLC iPad transcoding & AC3 audio

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    31

    Question VLC iPad transcoding & AC3 audio

    Hello,

    I have a new housemate with some iOS devices with whom I am trying to share my library. It looks like AC3 & DTS audio codecs have been removed from VLC for iOS recently due to licensing issues. I've tried creating a custom device profile based upon the VLC iPad profile, deleting the <format id="ac3"></format> tags within the various avcontainer > audio tags but the video content is not being transcoded. Transcoding is enabled for the device & in the global Transcoding Settings". Can someone point me in the right direction to get videos transcoding without AC3 & DTS audio?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    11,547

    Default

    Make sure you restart your Mezzmo server after making changes to device profiles. This will force Mezzmo server to re-load the device profiles so your changes take effect.

    If still no success, then right-click on a video that is not transcoding (when you think it should) and click 'Get FFmpeg Information'. Post that information here and we'll advise the changes required to your device profile.

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Thanks for the info. I ended up starting from scratch with the VLC iPad profile & making my changes again. I must have removed something by mistake. Transcoding is now working as expected (still need a faster pc!) with one exception, HDHomeRun Prime streams. I can see the video but VLC for iOS provides a warning that the a52 (AC3) codec is not supported. Of course, the audio is not heard.

    Is transcoding of streams from network media supported? In the event this should work, the ffmpeg info is below.

    ffmpeg version N-66094-gbb8b752 Copyright (c) 2000-2014 the FFmpeg developers
    built on Sep 4 2014 16:23:51 with gcc 4.8.2 (GCC)
    configuration: --enable-memalign-hack --arch=x86_64 --target-os=mingw32 --cross-prefix=x86_64-w64-mingw32- --enable-static --disable-shared --enable-zlib --disable-postproc --prefix=/home/peter/ffmpeg/build/gpl64 --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libx264 --enable-gpl --extra-libs='-lx264 -lpthread' --enable-runtime-cpudetect --extra-cflags=-I/home/peter/cc32/include --extra-ldflags=-L/home/peter/cc64/lib --pkg-config=pkg-config --disable-w32threads --enable-libvpx --enable-libvorbis
    libavutil 54. 7.100 / 54. 7.100
    libavcodec 56. 1.100 / 56. 1.100
    libavformat 56. 4.100 / 56. 4.100
    libavdevice 56. 0.100 / 56. 0.100
    libavfilter 5. 0.103 / 5. 0.103
    libswscale 3. 0.100 / 3. 0.100
    libswresample 1. 1.100 / 1. 1.100
    [http @ 0000000001eaf240] HTTP error 406 Not Acceptable
    http://10.0.0.248:5004/auto/v802?dlna: Input/output error

    <MEZZMO>: Child process ended with code: 109, ExitCode=1


    ---> DB Level Info: 0, -99
    ---> Frame rate:
    ---> Aspect ratio:
    ---> Duration: -

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    11,547

    Default

    Glad you got the VLC iPad device profile working now.

    For the network media streams, right-click on one of them in Mezzmo and click Properties. On the Properties dialog, go to the Video tab. Does the information (video codec, audio codec, etc.) appear to be correct? The FFmpeg information is not correct that you posted, so that may explain why your network media streams are not being transcoded. Let us know and we'll provide some more guidance.

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    31

    Default

    It does not appear to be correct.

    mez.png

    I believe the HDHomeRun Prime DLNA source is providing MPEG2 1920x1080 with AC3 6CH 384kbs audio.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    31

    Default

    If I open the url for the stream from VLC on a Win 7 x64 PC this is file info.

    info.png

    Perhaps that is helpful.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    11,547

    Default

    Thanks for the confirmation. Your HDHomeRun Prime is refusing to provide the URL stream (http://10.0.0.248:5004/auto/v802?dlna:) in the correct manner to FFmpeg, and that's the cause of the problems. A quick search of the web shows other HDHomerun owners possibly with the same problem. A few owners suggested that you will get the 406 error if you do not have the latest HDHomeRun firmware. Can you check if you have the latest firmware and then try again? (i.e. right-click on the video in Mezzmo and click 'Get FFmpeg Information' again). Let us know how you go.

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    31

    Default

    The HDHomeRun Prime firmware is 20150615, which is the most recent available. The information provided in previous posts was obtained while running this firmware. I'll do some searching on that 406 error. I am able to play the stream from a variety of PC's in both Windows Media Player & VLC, including on the PC running Mezzmo. I am also able to play the stream in VLC for Android via BubbleUPNP.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    11,547

    Default

    OK - try this:

    1. From the Windows Start menu, type 'cmd.exe' and press Enter to run a command window
    2. Change directory to your Mezzmo program folder (e.g. cd c:\Program Files\Conceiva\Mezzmo)
    3. Change directory to Mezzmo's ffmpeg sub-folder (i.e. cd ffmpeg32)
    4. Type 'ffmpeg -loglevel trace -i <URL>' (where <URL> is one of the URLs you see in the Network Media pane for your videos from the HDHomeRun Prime)

    Post that information here or email it to us at support [at] conceiva [dot] com.

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Thanks Paul,

    "trace" does not appear to be a valid log level in ffmpeg.

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Conceiva\Mezzmo\ffmpeg32>ffmpeg -loglevel trace http://10.0.0.249:5004/auto/v802?dlna
    Invalid loglevel "trace". Possible levels are numbers or:
    "quiet"
    "panic"
    "fatal"
    "error"
    "warning"
    "info"
    "verbose"
    "debug"

    Here is the output of the "debug" trace level, which appears to be the most verbose, for ffmpeg32

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Conceiva\Mezzmo\ffmpeg32>ffmpeg -loglevel debug http://10.0.0.249:5004/auto/v802?dlna
    ffmpeg version N-66094-gbb8b752 Copyright (c) 2000-2014 the FFmpeg developers
    built on Sep 4 2014 15:22:34 with gcc 4.8.2 (GCC)
    configuration: --enable-memalign-hack --arch=x86 --target-os=mingw32 --cross-prefix=i686-w64-mingw32- --enable-static --disable-shared --enable-zlib --d
    ild/gpl32 --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libx264 --enable-gpl --extra-libs='-lx264 -lpthread' --enable-pthreads --enable-runtime-cpudetect --extra-cflags=-I
    me/peter/cc32/lib --pkg-config=pkg-config --disable-w32threads --enable-zlib --enable-libvpx --enable-libvorbis
    libavutil 54. 7.100 / 54. 7.100
    libavcodec 56. 1.100 / 56. 1.100
    libavformat 56. 4.100 / 56. 4.100
    libavdevice 56. 0.100 / 56. 0.100
    libavfilter 5. 0.103 / 5. 0.103
    libswscale 3. 0.100 / 3. 0.100
    libswresample 1. 1.100 / 1. 1.100
    Splitting the commandline.
    Reading option '-loglevel' ... matched as option 'loglevel' (set logging level) with argument 'debug'.
    Reading option 'http://10.0.0.249:5004/auto/v802?dlna' ... matched as output file.
    Finished splitting the commandline.
    Parsing a group of options: global .
    Applying option loglevel (set logging level) with argument debug.
    Successfully parsed a group of options.
    Parsing a group of options: output file http://10.0.0.249:5004/auto/v802?dlna.
    Successfully parsed a group of options.
    Opening an output file: http://10.0.0.249:5004/auto/v802?dlna.
    [NULL @ 003dfa60] Unable to find a suitable output format for 'http://10.0.0.249:5004/auto/v802?dlna'
    http://10.0.0.249:5004/auto/v802?dlna: Invalid argument


    Here is the output of the "debug" trace level for ffmpeg64

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Conceiva\Mezzmo\ffmpeg64>ffmpeg -loglevel debug http://10.0.0.249:5004/auto/v802?dlna
    ffmpeg version N-66094-gbb8b752 Copyright (c) 2000-2014 the FFmpeg developers
    built on Sep 4 2014 16:23:51 with gcc 4.8.2 (GCC)
    configuration: --enable-memalign-hack --arch=x86_64 --target-os=mingw32 --cross-prefix=x86_64-w64-mingw32- --enable-static --disable-shared --enable-zli
    eg/build/gpl64 --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libx264 --enable-gpl --extra-libs='-lx264 -lpthread' --enable-runtime-cpudetect --extra-cflags=-I/home/peter/c
    /lib --pkg-config=pkg-config --disable-w32threads --enable-libvpx --enable-libvorbis
    libavutil 54. 7.100 / 54. 7.100
    libavcodec 56. 1.100 / 56. 1.100
    libavformat 56. 4.100 / 56. 4.100
    libavdevice 56. 0.100 / 56. 0.100
    libavfilter 5. 0.103 / 5. 0.103
    libswscale 3. 0.100 / 3. 0.100
    libswresample 1. 1.100 / 1. 1.100
    Splitting the commandline.
    Reading option '-loglevel' ... matched as option 'loglevel' (set logging level) with argument 'debug'.
    Reading option 'http://10.0.0.249:5004/auto/v802?dlna' ... matched as output file.
    Finished splitting the commandline.
    Parsing a group of options: global .
    Applying option loglevel (set logging level) with argument debug.
    Successfully parsed a group of options.
    Parsing a group of options: output file http://10.0.0.249:5004/auto/v802?dlna.
    Successfully parsed a group of options.
    Opening an output file: http://10.0.0.249:5004/auto/v802?dlna.
    [NULL @ 00000000002de9a0] Unable to find a suitable output format for 'http://10.0.0.249:5004/auto/v802?dlna'
    http://10.0.0.249:5004/auto/v802?dlna: Invalid argument

Similar Threads

  1. only transcoded Audio AC3
    By sfolguera in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-31-2015, 08:38 AM
  2. Video with 2 audio streams: DTS and AC3, how to choose?
    By peterhammer in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-26-2015, 08:26 PM
  3. ac3 audio in mkv for samsung bd-c5900
    By aguy in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-11-2013, 06:13 PM
  4. Mezzmo and Ipad streaming/transcoding
    By lmdfln in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-03-2011, 06:08 AM
  5. iPad works fine without any transcoding
    By Gus in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-23-2011, 08:54 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •