Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: Mezzmo 5 and Internet

  1. #1

    Unhappy Mezzmo 5 and Internet

    I can use the Intranet Web access, but the Internet Web access is not working. I use Port 1024 and my Firewall is working well with this port. I can't use http://mydnsname:1024/web and also not http://localhost:1024/web !

    Error is: no connection or to long or some others

    i have also deinstall and new install. nothing. I think that the webserver from mezzmo is not working on this port only on the port for intranet. when i use the intranet port in my firewall then i can login from internet (http://mydnsname:53168/web) but i can't see cover or videos or other.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    11,648

    Default

    To access your Mezzmo media server from outside your home network, you will need to forward the port of your Mezzmo server from your router so that your Mezzmo media server is exposed to the Internet. By default, the Mezzmo media server’s port is 53168. Next, you will need to find out your computer’s IP address by opening a Windows command line (press the Windows key on your keyboard and ‘R’ together then type ‘cmd’ and press Enter) and then run ‘ipconfig’ in the command line to find out your IP address. With these details, you can then go to your router’s webpage (you will be able to see this in the output from ipconfig as the default Gateway) and log into it and find the section for port forwarding. Add the IP address and port for the Mezzmo server. For more help, see http://www.wikihow.com/Set-Up-Port-F...ng-on-a-Router or http://www.howtogeek.com/66214/how-t...n-your-router/ for more information about forwarding ports in your router.

    Once your port is forwarded in the router, then you can add this information to Mezzmo. Go to the Media Server Settings dialog and add the remote port into the ‘Remote Access Port’ field and click OK. Now you can go to Media Server -> Web Access and double-click on the ‘Admin’ user (or another user) to set your Web Access password and click on the remote access link to test that remote access is working. If all goes well, then you should see the Web Access login page in your web browser. If you get an error, then check your port forwarding settings in your router again to make sure the port is forwarded correctly.

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  3. #3

    Default

    I must be doing something wrong. I follow that the default media server port is 53168 and is shown in the 'Media Server Settings' dialog. I also see that the Remote access port is blank by default. I have forwarded the 53168 port on my router to my computer. From outside my home, I can bring up the login screen with no problem, but when I try to log in the error "The webpage at http://1.0.0.0:0/web/?sid=[redacted] might be temporarily down or it may have moved permanently to a new web address." comes up.

    Should I be adding 53168 to the blank remote access port field in Media Server Settings or should I be making up a number on my own and creating another port forward? I've tried both and I get the same result as when it's blank. The web access work fine inside the home.

    Again, I'm assuming I'm missing something glaringly obvious.

  4. #4

    Default Mezzmo 5 and Internet

    Quote Originally Posted by RedBeard1701 View Post
    I must be doing something wrong. I follow that the default media server port is 53168 and is shown in the 'Media Server Settings' dialog. I also see that the Remote access port is blank by default. I have forwarded the 53168 port on my router to my computer. From outside my home, I can bring up the login screen with no problem, but when I try to log in the error "The webpage at http://1.0.0.0:0/web/?sid=[redacted] might be temporarily down or it may have moved permanently to a new web address." comes up.

    Should I be adding 53168 to the blank remote access port field in Media Server Settings or should I be making up a number on my own and creating another port forward? I've tried both and I get the same result as when it's blank. The web access work fine inside the home.

    Again, I'm assuming I'm missing something glaringly obvious.
    I too cannot get the Internet side of M5 to work. The home network side works fine. I've tried Port Forwarding with different ports and tried using Virtual Server (Virtual port forwarding.) I've tried using myDNS and the copy hyperlink on the app.

  5. #5

    Default

    Also, what is the difference between Console application and Windows Service?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    564

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RedBeard1701 View Post
    I must be doing something wrong. I follow that the default media server port is 53168 and is shown in the 'Media Server Settings' dialog. I also see that the Remote access port is blank by default. I have forwarded the 53168 port on my router to my computer. From outside my home, I can bring up the login screen with no problem, but when I try to log in the error "The webpage at http://1.0.0.0:0/web/?sid=[redacted] might be temporarily down or it may have moved permanently to a new web address." comes up.

    Should I be adding 53168 to the blank remote access port field in Media Server Settings or should I be making up a number on my own and creating another port forward? I've tried both and I get the same result as when it's blank. The web access work fine inside the home.

    Again, I'm assuming I'm missing something glaringly obvious.
    This sounds like an internal vs. external DNS mismatch. I spent quite a bit of time testing this as a beta tester. From the outside you might be using something like: http://mezzmo.mydomain.com:53168/web which the external Internet DNS will resolve to your Internet facing IP address of your cable router. However internally the IP address of your Mezzmo server will be your local network IP address. If you are running DNS internally and you have a DNS entry for mezzmo.mydomain.com it should point to your internal IP address. If you aren't running DNS then add a host file entry on your Mezzmo server which is:

    your Internal IP mezzmo.mydomain.com

    I believe this will resolve the issue.
    Last edited by jbinkley60; 05-14-2016 at 09:43 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    11,648

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RedBeard1701 View Post
    I must be doing something wrong. I follow that the default media server port is 53168 and is shown in the 'Media Server Settings' dialog. I also see that the Remote access port is blank by default. I have forwarded the 53168 port on my router to my computer. From outside my home, I can bring up the login screen with no problem, but when I try to log in the error "The webpage at http://1.0.0.0:0/web/?sid=[redacted] might be temporarily down or it may have moved permanently to a new web address." comes up.

    Should I be adding 53168 to the blank remote access port field in Media Server Settings or should I be making up a number on my own and creating another port forward? I've tried both and I get the same result as when it's blank. The web access work fine inside the home.

    Again, I'm assuming I'm missing something glaringly obvious.
    Sorry for the lack of a tutorial or notes on this. We're currently writing it now for our new wiki. A few notes that should help:

    The 'Remote port' value in the Media Server Settings dialog should be the same port that you have forwarded to in your router. For example, in your router, you will have forwarded the Mezzmo server port (53168) to (say) port 1234. So you need to add 1234 into the Remote port edit box in the Mezzmo Server Settings dialog.

    Next, go to the Web Access dialog and edit a user that you wish to use from outside your home (e.g. admin) and set the "Allow the user to access" checkbox to "Allow the user to access (Allow)" - meaning this user can access your Mezzmo server from outside your home. Exit this dialog and open it again. You should now see a valid web link under the "Web browser link to access your Mezzmo server outside your home" section. Make sure your Mezzmo server is running and you should be able to access Mezzmo server from outside your home using this user account .

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    11,648

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dopedogg View Post
    Also, what is the difference between Console application and Windows Service?
    Before Mezzmo v5.0, Mezzmo server always ran as a Windows service on your computer. This works great - but quite a few users had problems when they tried to access and stream media files from their NAS drives on their home network. The problem is related to access permissions issues where Mezzmo server running as a Windows service under (by default) the Windows Local System account could not access your files and folders on your NAS. This can be fixed with some configuration changes of your Windows service and/or NAS permissions (see FAQ - http://forum.conceiva.com/showthread...r-home-network).

    For Mezzmo v5.0+, we've introduced a new method of running your Mezzmo server - i.e. as a console application that runs under the Windows account that you are currently logged into. This fixes any of these access permission issues that NAS owners often complain about.

    In general, we now recommend using the console application method as the simple, trouble-free method.

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    88

    Default

    If it's any conciliation, I had this working during the beta and it was working fine, but my upload speed is crap so the person I was sharing to couldn't stream it. It will work excellent on higher upload speeds. From memory once the port is forwarded, it auto creates a link that you can share externally.

  10. #10

    Default

    Nope.. still not working. Turned off firewall, Port Forwarded 5100 for the open port in the router and Remote port value. I gave Admin "Allow" to access from the internet. I have a Synology media server that was just that easy to port forward for internet access.

Similar Threads

  1. Mezzmo, Download Studio and Streaming Internet Radio
    By shag13 in forum DownloadStudio Questions and Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-09-2016, 08:18 AM
  2. possible to stream content from Mezzmo over the internet?
    By Commander Keen in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-25-2015, 01:30 PM
  3. Mezzmo 2.1.12 and getting internet artwork.
    By dpetr in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-28-2010, 08:14 AM
  4. Is there a way to stream Internet content, such as HULU through Mezzmo?
    By Steve.Olson in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-22-2010, 10:06 AM
  5. Setting up Mezzmo in a network without internet
    By Dave. in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-30-2010, 05:50 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •