Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Mezzmo & Kodi - Plugin not seeing server but Kodi does

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    76

    Default Mezzmo & Kodi - Plugin not seeing server but Kodi does

    For some reason Kodi on Windows 10 PC can see my server and plays etc. but the Plug in cannot see the server.

    On my iPOD, Andoid etc running Kodi the plugin is working fine but not on the Windows PC.

    Playback does stock occasionally but I don't believe this is related.

    I have tested using Kodi 16 (Using latest version of Mezzmo and bundled plugin).

    PC is a clean install of Windows 10 and only has Mezzmo Kodi installed.

    Re-tested with re-install of Kodi 16 and also tested with Kodi 17

    I have even switched firewalls and AV with no difference (reason unrelated but removed one more explanation).

    Run out of ideas now.

    Steve

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,604

    Default

    Hi Steve,
    we had a test PC here that was showing the same behaviour. It had Kaspersky Internet Security installed but it was a trial and had expired and the Windows Firewall disabled, after uninstalling Kaspersky the Kodi addon was able to find the Mezzmo server. Possibly you have some similar software on your PC that is causing the problem, the anti-virus software may still be blocking the port even though it is turned off? The Mezzmo Kodi addon sends an M-Search multicast message on port 1900 so if anything is blocking this no servers will be found. Kodi itself listens to incoming Notify messages so even if it can't send an M-Search it will find the servers using the Notify messages but the addon does not do this.

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Thought I would chime in here...

    Add an exception for the IP of your Kodi server and for both ports 1900 and 2700 via your firewall. For me I done this on Bitdefender 2015. So my settings were adding an exception for my static IP (192.168.20.20) and ports as mentioned above.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Thanks will give that ago although I have just switched to F-Secure and Windows 10 firewall and unsure where the settings are at the moment.

    I take it you mean alter the firewall on the client PC not the server PC.

    Earlier today i temporarily disabled windows firewall completely and it still didn't see the server.

    I put into windows firewall an outbound exception allowing kodi but I am not 100% sure that's enough. Saying that when the firewall is disabled I would have expected it to work.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Ok found the source of the problem, just not 100% sure of the fix just yet. Realised my PC used just as a client is connected on my network via my wired network rather than wifi. Up till recently this went from my main router, through an unmanaged switch to the PC. This working fine. As part of swapping Broadband provider and therefore router I have just swapped the switch for a spare wireless router which I have "reconfigured" with DD-WRT to be a wireless AP and a managed switch. Looking at the FAQ's I spotter a few router settings to set and on my main hub and the only thing I had to alter was disabling UPnP (no other settings are even available on the new Virgin Hub 3!) but I expect as I have every setting in the world available with DD-WRT, something needs unblocking.

    Just not sure what, any ideas bearing in mind Kodi was working without the plugin using this router, could it be simply unblocking port 1900?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,604

    Default

    Hi Steve,
    you can try disabling the firewall in DD-WRT to see if this resolves the problem or add an exception to allow port 1900 through. Since Kodi can see the Mezzmo server without the plugin this indicates the Notify multicast messages from the Mezzmo server are getting through but the M-Search multicast from the plugin is not getting through. The following link talks about steps to disable multicast in DD-WRT http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php...reless_traffic can you please check these settings on your router to make sure they are enabled instead of disabled and also check the firewall section to see if it is blocking the multicast as discussed in the link?

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    76

    Default Fixed

    Ok thanks both now sorted. My problem was my 2nd switch/AP setting. It was actually it's IP address, it was not in the correct range since I had upgraded my main router. Once I forced my PC to be in the same range I could get on, fix the IP and hey presto all now works.

    Thanks for your help

    Steve

Similar Threads

  1. Mezzmo plugin for Kodi/XBMC
    By smitbret in forum Mezzmo Wish List and Feedback
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 05-08-2018, 09:35 PM
  2. Mezzmo Kodi Add-on: Invitation for Beta testers
    By Paul in forum Mezzmo News & Announcements
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-24-2016, 06:47 PM
  3. Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on released
    By Paul in forum Mezzmo News & Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-24-2016, 06:32 PM
  4. Mezzmo Kodi - At least one file could not be played ....
    By juntiedt in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-20-2016, 11:18 AM
  5. Adding Mezzmo as a source for KODI
    By boe in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-22-2015, 12:07 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •