Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Devices with the best UI

Default Devices with the best UI

Ok, I've been doing this a while...

I've been using Mezzmo for several years and have hacked up WD TV Live Plus devices all over my house with WDLXTV. I've got movie sheets working really well for movies as well as TV Series in streaming modes.

But, of course this setup, while it works well, is a bit of a pain.

I'll probably use ThumGen forever to load metadata, or at least fix stuff Mezzmo doesn't grab right or can't find, but I guess this is all anecdotal.

What I'd like is a device that is really new that renders the metadata Mezzmo stores really nicely (as well as being a really good streaming media player). Like my moviesheets do, for example, seeing an MPAA rating and displaying the graphic rather than the text representation.

Of the latest devices, what do people recommend that has an outstanding UX, and streams HD really well?

I've seen some OTT stuff out there that looks good, and what about Kodi (formerly XBMC, and I generate nfo files as well as tgmd)?

Any opinions would be of value. I should add to this that I very strictly us only mkv for video, and MP3 and flac for audio. Photos are all jpg but I'm not interested in metadata for those.
    Last edited by hsbrown2; 03-07-2017 at 06:22 PM. Reason: Update with file types

I would say either Kodi with the Mezzmo addon or a Roku device which has a Mezzmo app
    Both of these display things the same as the web app, so you get the nice display of all metadata

Roku is the easier of the 2 to setup (which i mainly use on my TV), but it is very limited in codec support, so you might have a lot of transcoding (dont have many mkv so not sure how it handles them)
    The plus side for using Kodi, it plays virtually everything without transcoding, but you need a pc connected to your tv (i use this for playback on my laptop)

Dont use the Music/Photo feature, but both should be able to handle mp3 without issues