Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Pause, Freeze, Reload while streaming ISO files

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1

    Default Pause, Freeze, Reload while streaming ISO files

    Hello.

    I have installed Mezzmo v5.2.0.0 on our Windows 7 64bit Dell XPS 730x. I have 530+ iso files stored on a NAS connected to our home 10/100 Mbps network. I stream to our TV via ROKU Ultimate connected to the wifi network via 11AC.

    I am periodically seeing a video play OK for several minutes, then it "Reloading" starts playing from about 40 seconds earlier, plays the 40 seconds and repeats this process. I pause the play back, press the back page button, and resume the video. It resumes at the same point and plays for 40 seconds and then repeats the "Reloading" process. If I fast foreword to another part of the video, it plays for another 40 secs and repeats the problem.

    Most of the time, Mezzmo plays the videos OK, but on occasion, we run into this problem.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,952

    Default

    This may be a problem with the bandwidth of the wireless network when streaming to the Roku or it is a problem with transcoding speed of the Mezzmo server. You can try pre-transcoding an ISO file in Mezzmo then stream it to the Roku and if it plays without issue then the problem is the transcoding speed, if it still has a problem then it is bandwidth and you may need to run a wired cable to the Roku to stream the content or change the Performance settings in Device Settings to lower the bitrate or resolution when transcoding.

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter View Post
    This may be a problem with the bandwidth of the wireless network when streaming to the Roku or it is a problem with transcoding speed of the Mezzmo server. You can try pre-transcoding an ISO file in Mezzmo then stream it to the Roku and if it plays without issue then the problem is the transcoding speed, if it still has a problem then it is bandwidth and you may need to run a wired cable to the Roku to stream the content or change the Performance settings in Device Settings to lower the bitrate or resolution when transcoding.
    The Roku box connects to the wifi network via an 11AC connection to a Netgear WAC104 access point. The access point is wired to the network. The 11AC connection is capable of up to 867 Mbps. The network is wired at 10/100 Mbps. The wifi connection is faster than the wired network. I am going to upgrade the wired network to a Gigibit system. So you are saying that the problem appears to be bandwidth either wifi or wired. Hopefully then, the upgrade to the gigabit network should clear this up. I'll let you know.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,952

    Default

    The problem could be network bandwidth or transcoding speed, you should check to see if pre-transcoding a file resolves the issue then you will not need to upgrade the network. Also the wifi network may be AC but does the Roku device support AC? The wifi signal may be reduced to a compatibility mode to connect to the older wifi in the device, it could also be an issue with signal interruption if the wifi is dropping out.

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  5. #5

    Default

    The Roku Ultimate box connected to the 11AC wifi access point OK. During setup, it listed the 3 ssid's on our home network and selected the 11AC as default. I upgraded the network to a 1 Gigibit system by swapping the Zonet zfs3018p 10/100 Mbps switch to a Dlink dgs-1008g 1Gbit switch.
    Before the upgrade I noted the following:
    I ran a disk speed test utility from BlackMagic Design on the same computer were the Mezzmo Media Server is installed. The Dlink DNS345 NAS drive tested at: Disk write speed 10 MBps, (80 Mbps), Disk read speed 2 MBps, (16 Mbps). This would appear to be the streaming problem.

    After the upgrade the Dlink DNS345 speeds did not change, 10MBps write, and 2 MBps read speed. I noted that another smaller NAS connected in a different location tested at 20MBps write speed and 20MBps, (160Mbps) read speed, (this is faster than the 10/100 Mbps switch capacity). I relocated the Dlink DNS345 to another location in the network. It then tested at 65 MBps, (520 Mbps), 65 MBps read speed. This appeared to be the solution to the problem.

    I have found that the Pause, Freeze, Reload problem still exists as before. I am playing a Blu-Ray ISO file. It takes about 30 secs to load. It plays OK for 30 secs and goes black for several seconds. The metadata screen is displayed. When "Resume" is selected, it starts at the beginning and plays for about 5 min then goes black and returns to the metadata screen. When "Resume" is again selected, it starts at the beginning and plays for about 8 min and goes black and returns to the metadata screen. This repeats 3 or 4 times.

    During this activity, the Mezzmo Server displays
    Steaming file: 'xxxfilm' to Device: Roku Streaming Player (192.168.1.91) on the Status Panel.

    The Transcoding Panel displays, File: 'xxxfilm', Device: Roku Streaming Player, Format: hls(+h264,+aac,+burn.en) Status: Queued.

    While it is streaming OK, THE cpu shows 2%, the Networking shows less than 5%.

    While it is paused, Loading, the Transcoding Panel shows, Server Transcoding 4.6% at 16fps. After the "Resume" is selected the streaming starts again and the transcoding status clears. Then after several more minutes the Transcoding Panel status changes to 'Server Transcoding: 4.1% at 17 fps'. The fps changes from 17, 18, and 20. The CPU then increases to 22%, Mediaserver, 12%, ffmpeg.exe 10%. Then the screen goes black, the metadata screen is shown. When "Resume" is selected, it starts the film at the beginning.

    I also tried to connect an ethernet cable to the Roku box and connect to the access point via a wired connection. Same problem.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,952

    Default

    The problem appears to be the transcoding speed, 17 fps is not fast enough to play the file while transcoding on the fly. Please try pre-transcoding http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?id=pre-transcoding_files&s[]=pre&s[]=transcoding the file and this should resolve the issue. You can also investigate ways to speed up transcoding by looking into the Performance Settings http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?id=reduce_video_stuttering&s[]=performance&s[]=settings#transcoding_performance or Hardware transcoding http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?id=hardware_transcoding&s[]=hardware

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    350

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cchasecfi View Post
    Hello.

    I have installed Mezzmo v5.2.0.0 on our Windows 7 64bit Dell XPS 730x. I have 530+ iso files stored on a NAS connected to our home 10/100 Mbps network. I stream to our TV via ROKU Ultimate connected to the wifi network via 11AC.

    I am periodically seeing a video play OK for several minutes, then it "Reloading" starts playing from about 40 seconds earlier, plays the 40 seconds and repeats this process. I pause the play back, press the back page button, and resume the video. It resumes at the same point and plays for 40 seconds and then repeats the "Reloading" process. If I fast foreword to another part of the video, it plays for another 40 secs and repeats the problem.

    Most of the time, Mezzmo plays the videos OK, but on occasion, we run into this problem.

    Any ideas?
    What CPU is in that 730x? Shouldn't it be an i7? I can't imagine that any i7 would have trouble transcoding any BD or DVD ISO in real time. Additionally, if you are able to FFW to any part of the movie, that would suggest that transcoding has already completed or wasn't necessary in the first place. You shouldn't be able to FFW or Rew if Mezzmo is transcoding. Can you rip one of the BDs with something like MakeMKV, turn off transcoding and try to stream that file?
    Last edited by smitbret; 12-14-2018 at 11:54 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    359

    Default

    It would need to be ripped to a format that Rokus support. They have a limited codec set. But I concur with the suggestion. I try to avoid transcoding at almost all costs even though my Mezzmo server has an nVidia 1060 card in it. Also the i7 should have IQS support depending upon the model.
    Last edited by jbinkley60; 12-14-2018 at 12:53 PM.

  9. #9

    Default

    Hello. Thanks for the responses. The Dell XPS 730x has an Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz 2.67GHz. I tried using HandBrake and Leawo Blu-Ray Ripper to convert the BD/DVD ISO file to one of the MP4 formats to avoid transcoding. Every one I tried compressed the video so much the resulting video quality was very poor. I tried 2 different ISO files:

    1) File 1 BD ISO Size=43GB, M4V Size=11GB
    2) File 2 DVD ISO Size=6.2GB, MKV Size=3GB, TS Size=3.4GB

    I would like to find a converter that can produce the same quality as the Mezzmo pre-transcoded files. They have excellent quality. The best I could find was ripping the ISO file to MPEG-2. This has excellent HD and Mezzmo can transcode them on the fly.

    I ran a test with 2 BD MPG files streaming simultaneously to 2 different Roku boxes on 2 TVs. File 1 MPG File Size=23GB, Transcoded at 82fps, File 2 MPG File Size=20GB transcoded at 71fps. The CPU usage was 75%, ffmpeg.exe 1=38%, ffmpeg.exe 2=37%. The streaming was excellent for both TVs. The Networking usage was less than 10%. As a comparison, the ISO file transcodes at 11fps and has all of the problems described.

    Of course the optimum would be to avoid transcoding all together. I get a warning message when the temporary transcoding folder exceeds 70%, so I would have to be deleting all files periodically, or I could move the temporary folder to another NAS if the 1Gig network is fast enough to stream from.

    Does HandBrake have a video format option that matches Mezzmo's? Is there a converter that uses the ffmpeg.exe transcoding module?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    359

    Default

    DVDFab will do what you want to convert with native quality. I've been using it for years. I rip everything to M2TS format, which is the native Blu-Ray format. It has a passthrough option which keeps the source bitrate but can also do MKV, MP4, HEVC and other formats. It looks like your processor is old enough that Intel IQS support isn't an option. for HW encoding for on the fly transcoding improvement.
    Last edited by jbinkley60; 12-16-2018 at 09:20 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Freeze ups with 3.3
    By Pavlov in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-21-2013, 02:42 PM
  2. Unable to pause/restart large MKV files with Panasonic TV
    By Pavlov in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-12-2011, 12:14 AM
  3. Streaming Pause / Freezes
    By JamboUK in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12-15-2010, 10:10 AM
  4. Cannot Pause or RWD, FWD MKV and AVI files...
    By mcutugno in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-03-2010, 11:41 AM
  5. MP4 files unable to Fast Forward or Pause
    By Josip in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-19-2010, 03:39 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •