Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Netgear Nighthawk D7000v2

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    145

    Default Netgear Nighthawk D7000v2

    Hi
    before i send this router back, i thought i might just check to see if anyone else has seen similar to me.

    the Netgear D7000v2 router seems very good overall, however i cant get my devices on the LAN to see Mezzmo when this router is in place. All my devices are cable connected and the main unit is a Samsung C series TV.

    If i change the Mezzmo advertising period to a low value, the TV will eventually report a media server online, but without that the TV will never find Mezzmo. It then drops off after a while.

    All other routers work ok.

    I think when the TV boots, it sends a broadcast out to look for DLNA hosts. this is being blocked by the router for some reason.

    I have gone through every setting on the router and nothing looks out of place. I have installed older firmware on the router, all no success.

    it's a common router, does anyone use the Netgear D7000v2? i think the non DSL modem version is the R7000

    cheers
    Gus
    Mezzmo Server: HP MicroServer N40L, Dual Core, 8Gb, 8Tb. DLNA Clients: Samsung LE40C650 TV, Samsung BD-D5300 Blu-ray, iPad3, HTC OneX

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2,231

    Default

    It sounds like multicast packets are getting through from the Mezzmo server to the TV but not from the TV to the Mezzmo server. If you enable diagnostic logging in Options in Mezzmo you should be able to see in the logs if M-SEARCH messages are being received from the TV and this will tell you if the router is blocking them or not. It also sounds like the router may not be passing all packets through since the TV loses the connection to the server after a while, there are some settings to check on your router http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...ter_s_settings to make sure packets are being passed through correctly.

    Mezzmo Android: Install it on your tablet, smartphone, Android TV or Amazon Fire to browse and stream files from your Mezzmo library to all your devices. Full details at http://www.conceiva.com/products/mez...mo_android.asp
    Mezzmo for Kodi Add-on: Install it into Kodi to stream files from your Mezzmo library directly in Kodi. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...odi_user_guide
    Mezzmo for Roku App: Install it onto your Roku to stream files from your Mezzmo library. Full details at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki/doku.php?...oku_user_guide
    Wiki: User Guides & Reference Manual at http://www.mezzmo.com/wiki
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Mezzmo.DLNA.Server
    Twitter: https://twitter.com/conceiva_mezzmo
    Web: http://www.mezzmo.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    145

    Default

    Thanks. i will try to make time and put the Netgear router back in play, i had to put in my branded ISP router just now or there might be a war in our house! when it's quiet i will revert to the Netgear for testing. I agree with the log approach to check for the m-search upnp packet, i know the TV does some kind of SSDP discovery once it has an IP address. I know the Router has it's own UPNP media server which i have disable but tried it to check when it was enabled and it still failed. I had looked over already your router faq lines but i will revisit to make sure. I will be in touch.
    cheers
    Gus
    Mezzmo Server: HP MicroServer N40L, Dual Core, 8Gb, 8Tb. DLNA Clients: Samsung LE40C650 TV, Samsung BD-D5300 Blu-ray, iPad3, HTC OneX

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    435

    Default

    I've had a number of Netgear routers and have an R8000 Nighthawk right now. It doesn't have a uPNP media server in it but it does have a uPNP function where it tracks uPNP advertisements. I keep that disabled on my Netgear (and have on all others) and things seem to work better that way. If your's is like most other Netgear routers it is under Advanced-> Advanced Setup -> uPNP. The option Turn uPNP On I leave unchecked. If you are changing the option you might need to reboot the router.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    145

    Default

    Thanks. it "might" be fixed.
    I decided to start all over which involved plugging the 4 LAN cables back in (1 of which is the server, 1 of which is the TV). However this time i avoided port4 for these 2 devices.
    Port4 is marked as "LAN4[wan]" which means i can run an external modem if required and attach via Port4. However i use it as a LAN4 port. My TV was in this port before.

    Now there is a setting on admin page "Disable IGMP Proxy on WAN". Even though port4 is not a WAN port there might be a bug in the software which still applies this setting to port4, in any situation, even a LAN4.

    So if i avoid port4 for my media devices, then all is good. Fingers crossed. it's only been a day since trying. But the TV has worked 100% time, and i watched 2 hours of media last night with no problems.

    Will keep you posted...

    cheers

    Gus
    Mezzmo Server: HP MicroServer N40L, Dual Core, 8Gb, 8Tb. DLNA Clients: Samsung LE40C650 TV, Samsung BD-D5300 Blu-ray, iPad3, HTC OneX

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    435

    Default

    I've never seen a Netgear router bug. Ever.

Similar Threads

  1. Netgear media player
    By vcrpro3 in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 11-14-2014, 02:05 PM
  2. Netgear NeoTV Max (DTS doesn't play need to transcode it)
    By jwilliams in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-23-2013, 02:34 PM
  3. Supporting the Netgear Neo TV 550?
    By KWS53 in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-17-2012, 05:50 PM
  4. Netgear MP101 Music Player
    By JamboUK in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-11-2011, 10:37 AM
  5. Mezzmo and netgear evo2000
    By mapelli0 in forum Mezzmo Questions and Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-31-2010, 09:44 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •